Other Free Encyclopedias » Animal Life Resource » Birds

Hammerhead: Scopidae - Physical Characteristics, Diet, Behavior And Reproduction, Hammerheads And People - GEOGRAPHIC RANGE, HABITAT, CONSERVATION STATUS

birds accessed march hamerkop

Hammerheads live south of the Sahara Desert in the southern two-thirds of Africa. They are also found on the island of Madagascar and in the southwestern part of the Arabian Peninsula. Some of the birds spread out when dry areas become flooded during the rainy season, but they do not migrate in spring and fall. They are common and familiar birds in the places where they live.

Hammerheads are found in almost all types of wetlands. They feed in the shallow waters of lakeshores, riverbanks, ponds, marshes, wetlands near the ocean, and reservoirs behind dams. They usually use large trees near the wetlands for roosting at night and for nesting, but sometimes they use cliffs or rocky hillsides.


Hammerheads are not in any danger of extinction (dying out).


FOR MORE INFORMATION

Books:

Attenborough, David. The Life of Birds. Princeton, NJ: Princeton University Press, 1998.

Burton, Maurice, and Robert Burton. International Wildlife Encyclopedia, vol. 8. Tarrytown, NY: Marshall Cavendish, 2002.

Cohen, Sharon A. Bird Nests. San Francisco: Collins Publishers, 1993.

del Hoyo, Josep, A. Elliott, and J. Sargatal, eds. Handbook of the Birds of the World. Vol. 1, Ostrich to Ducks. Barcelona: Lynx Edicions, 1992.

Perrins, Christopher, ed. Firefly Encyclopedia of Birds. Buffalo, NY: Firefly Books, 2003.

Perrins, Christopher M., ed. The Illustrated Encyclopedia of Birds. New York: Prentice Hall Editions, 1990.

Rayner, Richard. Umboko and the Hamerkop. Harare, Zimbabwe: Baobab, 1988.

Sinclair, Ian, Phil Hockey, and Warwick Tarboton. Birds of Southern Africa. Princeton, NJ and Oxford, U.K.: Princeton University Press, 2002.


Periodicals:

"The Hamerkop." Travel Africa Magazine Online at http://www.travelafricamag.com/community.php?id=75 (accessed on March 24, 2004).

Web sites:

Animal Areas. "Hamerkop." Columbus Zoo and Aquarium. http://www.colszoo.org/animalareas/aforest/hammer.html (accessed on March 26, 2004).

Anniversary Animals. "Hamerkop." Kansas City Zoo. http://www.kcmo.org/kc150.nsf/web/hamerkop?opendocument (accessed March 26, 2004).

Bird Families of the World. "Hamerkop." Monterey Bay. http://www.montereybay.com/creagrus/hamerkop.html (accessed March 24, 2004).

Birds of the National Zoo. "Hammerkop." Smithsonian National Zoological Park. http://nationalzoo.si.edu/Animals/Birds/Meet_the_zoos_birds/zoo_bird_info.cfm?bird=Hammerkop (accessed March 26, 2004).

The Columbia Encyclopedia. "Hammerhead." Bartleby, Great Books Online. http://www.bartleby.com/65/ha/hammerhe.html (accessed March 26, 2004).

South African Animal Facts & Mythology, "Hamerkop." Dierinbeeld. http://www.dierinbeeld.nl/animal_files/birds/hamerkop (accessed on March 26, 2004).

Terns Gulls and Relatives: Laridae - Physical Characteristics, Habitat, Diet, Behavior And Reproduction, Gulls, Terns, Relatives, And People - GEOGRAPHIC RANGE, CONSERVATION STATUS [next] [back] Broadbills: Eurylaimidae - Physical Characteristics, Behavior And Reproduction, African Broadbill (smithornis Capensis): Species Accounts, Black-and-red Broadbill (cymbirhynchus Macrorhynchos): Species Accounts - GEOGRAPHIC RANGE, HABITAT, DIET, BROADBILL

User Comments

Your email address will be altered so spam harvesting bots can't read it easily.
Hide my email completely instead?

Cancel or

Vote down Vote up

23 days ago

Tech Support Number
Sage Tech Support Phone Number @ http://sagetech.supportphone-number.com/
QuickBooks Support Phone Number @ http://www.quickbookssupportphone-number.com/
Quicken tech Support Phone Number @ http://quickentech.supportphone-number.com/
QuickBooks Tech Support Phone Number @ http://quickbookstech.supportphone-number.com/

Vote down Vote up

about 1 month ago

Quickbooks Support Phone Number @ http://www.quickbooks.support-phonenumber.com/
Quicken Support Phone Number @ http://www.quicken.support-phonenumber.com/
Sage Support Phone Number @ http://www.sage.support-phonenumber.com/
Aol Support Phone Number @ http://www.aol.support-phonenumber.com/
Outlook Support Phone Number @ http://www.outlook.support-phonenumber.com/

Vote down Vote up

about 1 month ago

Quickbooks Technical Support Number @ http://www.quickbooks.technical-supportnumber.com/
Quicken Technical Support Number @ http://www.quicken.technical-supportnumber.com/
Sage Technical Support Number @ http://www.sage.technical-supportnumber.com/
Aol Technical Support Number @ http://www.aol.technical-supportnumber.com/
Outlook Technical Support Number @ http://www.outlook.technical-supportnumber.com/

Vote down Vote up

about 1 month ago

QuickBooks Support Phone Number @ http://quickbookssupportphone-number.weebly.com/
QuickBooks Support Phone Number @ http://www.quickbookssupportphone-number.com/
QuickBooks Support Phone Number @ http://qbsupportphonenumber.blogspot.com/

Vote down Vote up

4 months ago

Packers and Movers Mumbai @ http://www.pikup5th.in/packers-and-movers-mumbai.html
Packers and Movers Pune @ http://www.pikup5th.in/packers-and-movers-pune.html
Packers and Movers Kolkata @ http://www.pikup5th.in/packers-and-movers-kolkata.html
Packers and Movers Chandigarh @ http://www.pikup5th.in/packers-and-movers-chandigarh.html
Packers and Movers Navi Mumbai @ http://www.pikup5th.in/packers-and-movers-navi-mumbai.html
Packers and Movers Thane @ http://www.pikup5th.in/packers-and-movers-thane.html

Vote down Vote up

4 months ago

Packers and Movers India @ http://www.pikup5th.in/
Packers and Movers Gurgaon @ http://www.pikup5th.in/packers-and-movers-gurgaon.html
Packers and Movers Delhi @ http://www.pikup5th.in/packers-and-movers-delhi.html
Packers and Movers Bangalore @ http://www.pikup5th.in/packers-and-movers-bangalore.html
Packers and Movers Hyderabad @ http://www.pikup5th.in/packers-and-movers-hyderabad.html
Packers and Movers Noida @ http://www.pikup5th.in/packers-and-movers-noida.html
Packers and Movers Chennai @ http://www.pikup5th.in/packers-and-movers-chennai.html

Vote down Vote up

10 months ago


Thanks for post this helpful post - Please visit for More information about:

http://www.expert9th.in/packers-and-movers-mumbai/
http://www.expert9th.in/packers-and-movers-surat/
http://www.expert9th.in/packers-and-movers-navimumbai/
http://www.expert9th.in/packers-and-movers-ahmedabad/
http://www.expert9th.in/packers-and-movers-chandigarh/
http://www.expert9th.in/packers-and-movers-jamshedpur/

Vote down Vote up

10 months ago


Thanks for post this helpful post - Please visit for More information about:

http://www.expert9th.in/packers-and-movers-bangalore/
http://www.expert9th.in/packers-and-movers-hyderabad/
http://www.expert9th.in/packers-and-movers-chennai/
http://www.expert9th.in/packers-and-movers-pune/
http://www.expert9th.in/packers-and-movers-faridabad/
http://www.expert9th.in/packers-and-movers-kochi/

Vote down Vote up

10 months ago

Thanks for post this helpful post - Please visit for More information about:

http://www.expert9th.in/packers-and-movers-delhi/
http://www.expert9th.in/packers-and-movers-noida/
http://www.expert9th.in/packers-and-movers-gurgaon/
http://www.expert9th.in/packers-and-movers-kolkata/
http://www.expert9th.in/packers-and-movers-ghaziabad/
http://www.expert9th.in/packers-and-movers-amritsar/

Vote down Vote up

10 months ago


If you are looking Best Packers and Movers so Just Visit At:
http://www.top9th.in/packers-and-movers-bangalore/
http://www.top9th.in/packers-and-movers-hyderabad/
http://www.top9th.in/packers-and-movers-mumbai/
http://www.top9th.in/packers-and-movers-delhi/
http://www.top9th.in/packers-and-movers-gurgaon/
http://www.top9th.in/

Vote down Vote up

10 months ago

Thanks for post this helpful post - Please visit for More information about:
http://www.top9th.in/packers-and-movers-pune/
http://www.top9th.in/packers-and-movers-noida/
http://www.top9th.in/packers-and-movers-chennai/
http://www.top9th.in/packers-and-movers-kolkata/
http://www.top9th.in/packers-and-movers-ahmedabad/
http://www.top9th.in/packers-and-movers-surat/

Vote down Vote up

12 months ago

Visit for more information :-
http://www.expert9th.in/packers-and-movers-jaipur/
http://www.expert9th.in/packers-and-movers-bhubaneswar/
http://www.expert9th.in/packers-and-movers-visakhapatnam/
http://www.expert9th.in/packers-and-movers-patna/
http://www.expert9th.in/packers-and-movers-lucknow/
http://www.expert9th.in/packers-and-movers-coimbatore/
http://www.expert9th.in/packers-and-movers-bhopal/
http://www.expert9th.in/packers-and-movers-agra/
http://www.expert9th.in/packers-and-movers-indore/
http://www.expert9th.in/packers-and-movers-guwahati/
http://www.expert9th.in/packers-and-movers-ludhiana/
http://www.expert9th.in/packers-and-movers-raipur/

Vote down Vote up

12 months ago

Thanks for post this helpful post - Please visit for More information about:

http://www.expert9th.in/packers-and-movers-delhi/
http://www.expert9th.in/packers-and-movers-noida/
http://www.expert9th.in/packers-and-movers-gurgaon/
http://www.expert9th.in/packers-and-movers-kolkata/
http://www.expert9th.in/packers-and-movers-ghaziabad/
http://www.expert9th.in/packers-and-movers-amritsar/


--------------------------------------------------------


Thanks for post this helpful post - Please visit for More information about:

http://www.expert9th.in/packers-and-movers-bangalore/
http://www.expert9th.in/packers-and-movers-hyderabad/
http://www.expert9th.in/packers-and-movers-chennai/
http://www.expert9th.in/packers-and-movers-pune/
http://www.expert9th.in/packers-and-movers-faridabad/
http://www.expert9th.in/packers-and-movers-kochi/


--------------------------------------------------------


Thanks for post this helpful post - Please visit for More information about:

http://www.expert9th.in/packers-and-movers-mumbai/
http://www.expert9th.in/packers-and-movers-surat/
http://www.expert9th.in/packers-and-movers-navimumbai/
http://www.expert9th.in/packers-and-movers-ahmedabad/
http://www.expert9th.in/packers-and-movers-chandigarh/
http://www.expert9th.in/packers-and-movers-jamshedpur/

Vote down Vote up

about 1 year ago

Thanks for sharing the valuable post
http://topservice4u.in/
http://topservice4u.in/packers-and-movers-gurgaon/
http://topservice4u.in/packers-and-movers-bangalore/
http://topservice4u.in/packers-and-movers-mumbai/

Vote down Vote up

about 1 year ago

Thanks for post this helpful post - Please visit :
http://topservice4u.in/packers-and-movers-pune/
http://topservice4u.in/packers-and-movers-hyderabad/
http://topservice4u.in/packers-and-movers-delhi/
http://topservice4u.in/packers-and-movers-gurgaon/
http://topservice4u.in/packers-and-movers-chennai/

Vote down Vote up

about 1 year ago

Get Hair Transplants In India Are Safe And Cheap
http://topservice4u.in/hair-transplant-surgeons-delhi/
http://topservice4u.in/hair-transplant-surgeons-kolkata/
http://topservice4u.in/hair-transplant-surgeons-hyderabad/

Vote down Vote up

about 1 year ago

Wonderful article Get Hair Transplants In India Are Safe And Cheap
http://topservice4u.in/hair-transplant-surgeons-bangalore/
http://topservice4u.in/hair-transplant-surgeons-mumbai/
http://topservice4u.in/hair-transplant-surgeons-pune/

Vote down Vote up

about 1 year ago

Packers and Movers company visit for more information: -
http://www.best7th.in/packers-and-movers-delhi/
http://www.best7th.in/packers-and-movers-gurgaon/
http://www.best7th.in/packers-and-movers-kolkata/
http://www.best7th.in/packers-and-movers-noida/
http://www.best7th.in/packers-and-movers-chandigarh/

Vote down Vote up

about 1 year ago

Top 5 company listing of packers and Movers India City:-
http://top5pm.in/packers-and-movers-bangalore/
http://top5pm.in/packers-and-movers-delhi/
http://top5pm.in/packers-and-movers-gurgaon/
http://top5pm.in/packers-and-movers-mumbai/
http://top5pm.in/packers-and-movers-pune/
http://top5pm.in/

Vote down Vote up

about 1 year ago

Packers and Movers company visit for more information: -
http://www.best7th.in/packers-and-movers-bangalore/
http://www.best7th.in/packers-and-movers-mumbai/
http://www.best7th.in/packers-and-movers-pune/
http://www.best7th.in/packers-and-movers-chennai/
http://www.best7th.in/packers-and-movers-hyderabad/

Vote down Vote up

over 1 year ago

This article is really fantastic and thanks for sharing the valuable post.
http://www.smaart5th.in/packers-and-movers-in-hyderabad/
http://www.smaart5th.in/packers-and-movers-in-bangalore/
http://www.smaart5th.in/packers-and-movers-in-pune/
http://www.smaart5th.in/

Vote down Vote up

over 1 year ago

Thanks for all your information.Website is very nice and informative content.
http://www.smaart5th.in/packers-and-movers-in-mumbai/
http://www.smaart5th.in/packers-and-movers-in-delhi/
http://www.smaart5th.in/packers-and-movers-in-gurgaon/
http://www.smaart5th.in/packers-and-movers-in-chennai/
http://www.smaart5th.in/

Vote down Vote up

over 1 year ago

Thanks for all your information, Website is very nice and informative content.
http://www.expert5th.in/packers-and-movers-noida/
http://www.expert5th.in/packers-and-movers-thane/
http://www.expert5th.in/packers-and-movers-navimumbai/
http://www.expert5th.in/packers-and-movers-ghaziabad/
http://www.expert5th.in/packers-and-movers-faridabad/

Vote down Vote up

over 1 year ago

This article is really fantastic and thanks for sharing the valuable post.
http://www.expert5th.in/packers-and-movers-delhi/
http://www.expert5th.in/packers-and-movers-bangalore/
http://www.expert5th.in/packers-and-movers-gurgaon/
http://www.expert5th.in/packers-and-movers-pune/

Vote down Vote up

over 1 year ago

Thanks for post this helpful post - Please visit for More information about -
http://www.expert5th.in/packers-and-movers-hyderabad/
http://packersmoverspune.top3rd.in/
http://www.expert5th.in/packers-and-movers-mumbai/
http://www.expert5th.in/packers-and-movers-chennai/