Other Free Encyclopedias » Animal Life Resource » Dinosaurs, Snakes, and Other Reptiles

Snapping Turtles: Chelydridae - Physical Characteristics, Behavior And Reproduction, Snapping Turtles And People, Snapping Turtle (chelydra Serpentina): Species Account - GEOGRAPHIC RANGE, HABITAT, DIET, CONSERVATION STATUS

america water live

SNAPPING TURTLE (Chelydra serpentina): SPECIES ACCOUNT

Snapping turtles live in North America, Central America, and South America, from southern Canada to Ecuador.

These turtles mainly live in permanent water bodies, ones that are filled with water all year long. Some are able to survive in somewhat salty waters, but they typically prefer freshwater. Although they spend the majority of their time in the water, they will travel quite a distance over land to nest, and one species makes overland trips from one watering hole to another.

Snapping turtles are primarily meat eaters, dining on almost anything they can find, whether it is alive or dead. The diet includes worms, insects, snails, and larger items, such as other turtles, ducklings, and small mammals. Although it is not common, some turtles can live on an all-plant diet.

The World Conservation Union (IUCN) lists the alligator snapping turtle as Vulnerable, which means that there is a high threat of their extinction: they could die out entirely. There are many sources for these threats, including too much hunting of them and the loss of good habitat.

Central American River Turtle: Dermatemydidae - Physical Characteristics, Behavior And Reproduction, Central American River Turtles And People - GEOGRAPHIC RANGE, HABITAT, DIET, CONSERVATION STATUS [next] [back] False Coral Snake: Aniliidae - Physical Characteristics, Geographic Range, Behavior And Reproduction - HABITAT, DIET, FALSE CORAL SNAKES AND PEOPLE, CONSERVATION STATUS

User Comments

Your email address will be altered so spam harvesting bots can't read it easily.
Hide my email completely instead?

Cancel or

Vote down Vote up

9 months ago

Quickbooks Support Number @ http://www.quickbooks.intuit-techsupport.com/
Quickbooks Support Phone Number @ http://www.quickbooks.support-phonenumber.com/
Quicken Support Phone Number @ http://www.quicken.support-phonenumber.com/
Quicken Support Number @ http://www.quicken.intuit-techsupport.com/
Sage Support Phone Number @ http://www.sage.support-phonenumber.com/

Vote down Vote up

12 months ago


Packers and Movers in Hyderabad @
http://www.movers5th.in/packers-and-movers-hyderabad/
Packers and Movers in Pune @
http://www.movers5th.in/packers-and-movers-pune/
Packers and Movers in Bangalore @
http://www.movers5th.in/packers-and-movers-bangalore/

Vote down Vote up

12 months ago

Packers and Movers in Mumbai @
http://www.movers5th.in/packers-and-movers-mumbai/
Packers and Movers in Delhi @
http://www.movers5th.in/packers-and-movers-delhi/
Packers and Movers in Gurgaon @
http://www.movers5th.in/packers-and-movers-gurgaon/

Vote down Vote up

over 1 year ago

Move towards your new location more enthusiasm and accordingly to your budget.
Packers and Movers Bangalore @ http://www.premiumstar.in/packers-and-movers-bangalore.html
Packers and Movers Kolkata @ http://www.premiumstar.in/packers-and-movers-kolkata.html
Packers and Movers Hyderabad @ http://www.premiumstar.in/packers-and-movers-hyderabad.html
Packers and Movers Pune @ http://www.premiumstar.in/packers-and-movers-pune.html
Packers and Movers Chennai @ http://www.premiumstar.in/packers-and-movers-chennai.html

Vote down Vote up

over 1 year ago

Shifting Solutions according to your desired needs
Packers and Movers Gurgaon @ http://www.premiumstar.in/packers-and-movers-gurgaon.html
Packers and Movers Mumbai @ http://www.premiumstar.in/packers-and-movers-mumbai.html
Packers and Movers Noida @ http://www.premiumstar.in/packers-and-movers-noida.html
Packers and Movers Delhi @ http://www.premiumstar.in/packers-and-movers-delhi.html

Vote down Vote up

over 1 year ago

Packers and Movers Hyderabad @
http://www.adword.co.in/packers-and-movers-hyderabad/
Packers and Movers Mumbai @
http://www.adword.co.in/packers-and-movers-mumbai/
Packers and Movers Pune @
http://www.adword.co.in/packers-and-movers-pune/

Vote down Vote up

over 1 year ago

http://www.adword.co.in/
Packers and Movers Bangalore @
http://www.adword.co.in/packers-and-movers-bangalore/
Packers and Movers Delhi @
http://www.adword.co.in/packers-and-movers-delhi/
Packers and Movers Gurgaon @
http://www.adword.co.in/packers-and-movers-gurgaon/

Vote down Vote up

over 1 year ago

Thank you very much for sharing this article:

http://www.packersmoversmarathahalli.co.in/
http://www.justdials.in/

Vote down Vote up

over 1 year ago

Thanks for More information top 3 company provide moving services & local shifting services
http://3th.co.in/packers-and-movers-delhi/
http://3th.co.in/packers-and-movers-noida/
http://3th.co.in/packers-and-movers-ghaziabad/
http://3th.co.in/packers-and-movers-faridabad/

Vote down Vote up

over 1 year ago

Thanks for mour information the5th in local shifting solutions moving services in India offices Visit link:
http://www.the5th.in/packers-and-movers-gurgaon.html
http://www.the5th.in/packers-and-movers-bangalore.html
http://www.the5th.in/packers-and-movers-pune.html
http://www.the5th.in/packers-and-movers-mumbai.html

Vote down Vote up

over 1 year ago

Thank you for sharing this article:

http://movecar.top6thlist.in/car-carriers-in-delhi.html
http://movecar.top6thlist.in/car-carriers-in-faridabad.html
http://movecar.top6thlist.in/car-carriers-in-ghaziabad.html
http://movecar.top6thlist.in/car-carriers-in-gurgaon.html
http://movecar.top6thlist.in/car-carriers-in-noida.html

Vote down Vote up

over 1 year ago

Thank you for sharing this article:

http://movecar.top6thlist.in/car-carriers-in-chennai.html
http://movecar.top6thlist.in/car-carriers-in-hyderabad.html
http://movecar.top6thlist.in/car-carriers-in-pune.html
http://movecar.top6thlist.in/car-carriers-in-bangalore.html
http://movecar.top6thlist.in/

Vote down Vote up

over 1 year ago

Export Packers along with Movers
http://www.export5th.in/packers-and-movers-in-bangalore/
http://www.export5th.in/packers-and-movers-in-hyderabad/
http://www.export5th.in/packers-and-movers-in-chennai/

Vote down Vote up

over 1 year ago

Packers and Movers Services by Export5th
http://www.export5th.in/packers-and-movers-in-mumbai/
http://www.export5th.in/packers-and-movers-in-gurgaon/
http://www.export5th.in/packers-and-movers-in-pune/

Vote down Vote up

over 1 year ago

Thank you very much for sharing this article:

http://www.5th.co.in/packers-and-movers-bangalore/
http://www.5th.co.in/packers-and-movers-pune/
http://www.5th.co.in/packers-and-movers-noida/
http://www.5th.co.in/packers-and-movers-gurgaon/

Vote down Vote up

about 5 years ago

Related Information: Types of Turtles

Vote down Vote up

over 5 years ago

this is the best snapping turtle ever!!!!!!1