Other Free Encyclopedias » Animal Life Resource » Birds

Babblers: Timaliidae - Physical Characteristics, Behavior And Reproduction, Conservation Status, Black-crowned Barwing (actinodura Sodangorum): Species Accounts - GEOGRAPHIC RANGE, HABITAT, DIET, BABBLERS AND PEOPLE

picathartes asia birds desert

BLACK-CROWNED BARWING (Actinodura sodangorum): SPECIES ACCOUNTS
GRAY-NECKED PICATHARTES (Picathartes oreas): SPECIES ACCOUNTS
WRENTIT (Chamaea fasciata): SPECIES ACCOUNTS

With the exception of the picathartes, which evolved in Africa, most members of this family originated in Asia. Babblers can be found in regions of China, Southeast Asia, Malaysia, Australia and New Guinea, Japan and the Philippines, India, Nepal, and Sri Lanka. The only American species traces its roots to Asia as well.


Most babblers live in forested regions. A few adapted to desert and savanna (grassland) areas, and one species is semiaquatic in a marsh environment.


Babblers feed mainly on insects, though some species will eat fruit, seeds, frogs, and reptiles, depending on their specific habitats and the season of the year. The Arabian babbler, which lives in the desert where food is scarce, will eat almost anything.


Babblers, popular with zoos and exotic bird collectors, were once heavily trapped. Ecotourism, an industry based on attracting tourists to view birds, animals, and natural habitats, can help protect babbler populations in their natural environments by allowing people to see the birds there, instead of in zoos.

Chinese farmers have complained that the laughing thrush causes crop damage, but the bird helps with insect control in agricultural fields.


Bowerbirds: Ptilonorhynchidae - Physical Characteristics, Behavior And Reproduction, Satin Bowerbird (ptilonorhynchus Violaceus): Species Accounts, Spotted Bowerbird (chlamydera Maculata): Species Accounts - GEOGRAPHIC RANGE, HABITAT, DIET, BOWERBIRDS AND [next] [back] Hoopoes: Upupidae - Physical Characteristics, Habitat, Diet, Behavior And Reproduction, Conservation Status - GEOGRAPHIC RANGE, HOOPOES AND PEOPLE

User Comments

Your email address will be altered so spam harvesting bots can't read it easily.
Hide my email completely instead?

Cancel or

Vote down Vote up

19 days ago

Tech Support Number
Sage Tech Support Phone Number @ http://sagetech.supportphone-number.com/
QuickBooks Support Phone Number @ http://www.quickbookssupportphone-number.com/
Quicken tech Support Phone Number @ http://quickentech.supportphone-number.com/
QuickBooks Tech Support Phone Number @ http://quickbookstech.supportphone-number.com/

Vote down Vote up

about 1 month ago

Top Support Service
Quickbooks Support Phone Number @ http://www.quickbooks.support-phonenumber.com/
Quicken Support Phone Number @ http://www.quicken.support-phonenumber.com/
Sage Support Phone Number @ http://www.sage.support-phonenumber.com/
Aol Support Phone Number @ http://www.aol.support-phonenumber.com/
Outlook Support Phone Number @ http://www.outlook.support-phonenumber.com/

Vote down Vote up

about 1 month ago

Best Support Service
Quickbooks Technical Support Number @ http://www.quickbooks.technical-supportnumber.com/
Quicken Technical Support Number @ http://www.quicken.technical-supportnumber.com/
Sage Technical Support Number @ http://www.sage.technical-supportnumber.com/
Aol Technical Support Number @ http://www.aol.technical-supportnumber.com/
Outlook Technical Support Number @ http://www.outlook.technical-supportnumber.com/

Vote down Vote up

about 1 month ago

QuickBooks Support Phone Number @ http://quickbookssupportphone-number.weebly.com/
QuickBooks Support Phone Number @ http://www.quickbookssupportphone-number.com/
QuickBooks Support Phone Number @ http://qbsupportphonenumber.blogspot.com/

Vote down Vote up

4 months ago

Packers and Movers
Packers and Movers Mumbai @ http://www.pikup5th.in/packers-and-movers-mumbai.html
Packers and Movers Pune @ http://www.pikup5th.in/packers-and-movers-pune.html
Packers and Movers Kolkata @ http://www.pikup5th.in/packers-and-movers-kolkata.html
Packers and Movers Chandigarh @ http://www.pikup5th.in/packers-and-movers-chandigarh.html
Packers and Movers Navi Mumbai @ http://www.pikup5th.in/packers-and-movers-navi-mumbai.html
Packers and Movers Thane @ http://www.pikup5th.in/packers-and-movers-thane.html

Vote down Vote up

4 months ago

Packers and Movers India @ http://www.pikup5th.in/
Packers and Movers Gurgaon @ http://www.pikup5th.in/packers-and-movers-gurgaon.html
Packers and Movers Delhi @ http://www.pikup5th.in/packers-and-movers-delhi.html
Packers and Movers Bangalore @ http://www.pikup5th.in/packers-and-movers-bangalore.html
Packers and Movers Hyderabad @ http://www.pikup5th.in/packers-and-movers-hyderabad.html
Packers and Movers Noida @ http://www.pikup5th.in/packers-and-movers-noida.html
Packers and Movers Chennai @ http://www.pikup5th.in/packers-and-movers-chennai.html

Vote down Vote up

10 months ago


Thanks for post this helpful post - Please visit for More information about:

http://www.expert9th.in/packers-and-movers-mumbai/
http://www.expert9th.in/packers-and-movers-surat/
http://www.expert9th.in/packers-and-movers-navimumbai/
http://www.expert9th.in/packers-and-movers-ahmedabad/
http://www.expert9th.in/packers-and-movers-chandigarh/
http://www.expert9th.in/packers-and-movers-jamshedpur/

Vote down Vote up

10 months ago


Thanks for post this helpful post - Please visit for More information about:

http://www.expert9th.in/packers-and-movers-bangalore/
http://www.expert9th.in/packers-and-movers-hyderabad/
http://www.expert9th.in/packers-and-movers-chennai/
http://www.expert9th.in/packers-and-movers-pune/
http://www.expert9th.in/packers-and-movers-faridabad/
http://www.expert9th.in/packers-and-movers-kochi/

Vote down Vote up

10 months ago

Thanks for post this helpful post - Please visit for More information about:

http://www.expert9th.in/packers-and-movers-delhi/
http://www.expert9th.in/packers-and-movers-noida/
http://www.expert9th.in/packers-and-movers-gurgaon/
http://www.expert9th.in/packers-and-movers-kolkata/
http://www.expert9th.in/packers-and-movers-ghaziabad/
http://www.expert9th.in/packers-and-movers-amritsar/

Vote down Vote up

10 months ago

Thanks for post this helpful post - Please visit for More information about:
http://www.top9th.in/packers-and-movers-pune/
http://www.top9th.in/packers-and-movers-noida/
http://www.top9th.in/packers-and-movers-chennai/
http://www.top9th.in/packers-and-movers-kolkata/
http://www.top9th.in/packers-and-movers-ahmedabad/
http://www.top9th.in/packers-and-movers-surat/

Vote down Vote up

10 months ago

If you are looking Best Packers and Movers so Just Visit At:
http://www.top9th.in/packers-and-movers-bangalore/
http://www.top9th.in/packers-and-movers-hyderabad/
http://www.top9th.in/packers-and-movers-mumbai/
http://www.top9th.in/packers-and-movers-delhi/
http://www.top9th.in/packers-and-movers-gurgaon/
http://www.top9th.in/

Vote down Vote up

about 1 year ago

This article is really fantastic and thanks for sharing the valuable post.
http://www.expert5th.in/packers-and-movers-pune/

Vote down Vote up

about 1 year ago

Thanks for all your information.Website is very nice and informative content.
http://www.dteller.in/packers-and-movers-delhi/
http://www.dteller.in/packers-and-movers-gurgaon/
http://www.dteller.in/packers-and-movers-mumbai/

Vote down Vote up

about 1 year ago

Thanks for all your information.Website is very nice and informative content.
http://www.dteller.in/packers-and-movers-hyderabad/
http://www.dteller.in/packers-and-movers-bangalore/
http://www.dteller.in/packers-and-movers-pune/
http://www.dteller.in/

Vote down Vote up

about 1 year ago

This article is really fantastic and thanks for sharing the valuable post.
http://packersmoverspune.top3rd.in/

Vote down Vote up

about 1 year ago

I have Top 5 company listing of packers and Movers company at top5pm.in.

http://top5pm.in/packers-and-movers-bangalore/
http://top5pm.in/packers-and-movers-delhi/
http://top5pm.in/packers-and-movers-gurgaon/
http://top5pm.in/packers-and-movers-mumbai/
http://top5pm.in/packers-and-movers-pune/
http://top5pm.in/

Vote down Vote up

about 1 year ago

Packers and Movers company visit for more information: -
http://www.best7th.in/packers-and-movers-bangalore/
http://www.best7th.in/packers-and-movers-mumbai/
http://www.best7th.in/packers-and-movers-pune/
http://www.best7th.in/packers-and-movers-chennai/
http://www.best7th.in/packers-and-movers-hyderabad/

Vote down Vote up

about 1 year ago

Packers and Movers company visit for more information: -
http://www.best7th.in/packers-and-movers-delhi/
http://www.best7th.in/packers-and-movers-gurgaon/
http://www.best7th.in/packers-and-movers-kolkata/
http://www.best7th.in/packers-and-movers-noida/
http://www.best7th.in/packers-and-movers-chandigarh/

Vote down Vote up

about 1 year ago

Thanks for all your information, Website is very nice and informative content.
http://www.expert5th.in/packers-and-movers-noida/
http://www.expert5th.in/packers-and-movers-thane/
http://www.expert5th.in/packers-and-movers-navimumbai/
http://www.expert5th.in/packers-and-movers-ghaziabad/
http://www.expert5th.in/packers-and-movers-faridabad/

Vote down Vote up

about 1 year ago

This article is really fantastic and thanks for sharing the valuable post.
http://www.expert5th.in/packers-and-movers-delhi/
http://www.expert5th.in/packers-and-movers-bangalore/
http://www.expert5th.in/packers-and-movers-gurgaon/
http://www.expert5th.in/packers-and-movers-pune/

Vote down Vote up

about 1 year ago

Thanks for post this helpful post - Please visit for More information about -
http://www.expert5th.in/packers-and-movers-hyderabad/
http://packersmoverspune.top3rd.in/
http://www.expert5th.in/packers-and-movers-mumbai/
http://www.expert5th.in/packers-and-movers-chennai/

Vote down Vote up

over 1 year ago

Thanks for post this helpful post - Please visit for More information about - http://packersmoverspune.top3rd.in/

Vote down Vote up

over 1 year ago

Thanks for post this helpful post -
http://www.expert5th.in/packers-and-movers-pune/