Other Free Encyclopedias » Animal Life Resource » Birds

Hoatzin: Opisthocomiformes - Physical Characteristics, Diet, Behavior And Reproduction - GEOGRAPHIC RANGE, HABITAT, HOATZINS AND PEOPLE, CONSERVATION STATUS

june accessed odor online

Hoatzins are found in South America.


Hoatzins live in vegetation bordering water such as swamps, lakes, lagoons, streams, and rivers. Large populations can be found along the Amazon and Orinoco River systems. Hoatzins never live in altitudes above 1,640 feet (500 meters).


The local name given to this bird in Guyana is "stinking pheasant" because the strong odor of the hoatzin is similar to the smell of cow manure. The odor comes from the fatty acids in the crop. The odor prevents the hoatzin from being hunted for its meat, but hoatzin eggs are consumed by some local populations. The meat is used for bait, and feathers are used to make fans. Locals in the Amazon make a soup from the hoatzin to help relieve asthma.


Hoatzins are not threatened. However, conservationists are concerned over the loss of habitat due to industrial pollution and the conversion of land for agricultural use.


FOR MORE INFORMATION

Periodicals:

Brown, Nancy Marie. "What's a Hoatzin?" Research/Penn State 27, no. 2 (June 1996). Online at http://www.rps.psu.edu/jun96/hoatzin.html (accessed on June 11, 2004).

Zahler, Peter. "Crazy Like a Hoatzin." International Wildlife Magazine (July/August 1997). Online at http://www.nwf.org/internationalwildlife/hoatzin.html (accessed on June 11, 2004).


Web sites:

"Ecotourism is Stressing Animals to Death." Cooltech. http://cooltech.iafrica.com/science/308057.htm (accessed on June 14, 2004).

Grosset, Arthur. "Hoatzin." http://www.arthurgrosset.com/sabirds/hoatzin.html (accessed on June 11, 2004).

Payne, Robert B. "Recent Families, Birds of the World." University of Michigan, Museum of Zoology. http://www.ummz.lsa.umich.edu/birds/Bird_Families_of_the_World.html (accessed on June 11, 2004).

Rainforest Conservation Fund. http://www.rainforestconservation.org (accessed on July 13, 2004).

New World Warblers: Parulidae - Physical Characteristics, Behavior And Reproduction, Conservation Status, Yellow-breasted Chat (icteria Virens): Species Accounts - GEOGRAPHIC RANGE, HABITAT, DIET, NEW WORLD WARBLERS AND PEOPLE [next] [back] Nightjars: Caprimulgidae - Physical Characteristics, Behavior And Reproduction, Conservation Status, Whip-poor-will (caprimulgus Vociferus): Species Accounts - GEOGRAPHIC RANGE, HABITAT, DIET, NIGHTJARS AND PEOPLE

User Comments

Your email address will be altered so spam harvesting bots can't read it easily.
Hide my email completely instead?

Cancel or

Vote down Vote up

2 months ago

Quickbooks Support Phone Number
Quickbooks Support Phone Number @ http://www.quickbookstechnician.com/
Quickbooks Pro Support Phone Number @ http://www.quickbookstechnician.com/quickbooks-pro/
Quickbooks Error Support Phone Number @ http://www.quickbookstechnician.com/quickbooks-error/
Quickbooks Online Support Phone Number @ http://www.quickbookstechnician.com/quickbooks-online/
Quickbooks Payroll Support Phone Number @ http://www.quickbookstechnician.com/quickbooks-payroll/
Quickbooks Premier Support Phone Number @ http://www.quickbookstechnician.com/quickbooks-premier/
Quickbooks Enterprise Support Phone Number @ http://www.quickbookstechnician.com/quickbooks-enterprise/
Quickbooks Support Number

Vote down Vote up

4 months ago

Best Technical Support Number
http://www.quickbooks24.com/
http://www.sage.technical-supportnumber.com/
http://www.quicken.technical-supportnumber.com/
http://www.quickbooks.technical-supportnumber.com/
http://www.outlook.technical-supportnumber.com/
http://www.quickentechsupportnumber.com/
http://www.quickbooks.support-phonenumber.com/
http://www.quicken.support-phonenumber.com/
http://www.sage.support-phonenumber.com/
http://www.outlook.support-phonenumber.com/
http://www.avast.technical-supportnumber.com/
http://www.avg.technical-supportnumber.com/
http://www.mcafee.technical-supportnumber.com/
http://www.norton.technical-supportnumber.com/
http://www.aol.technical-supportnumber.com/
http://www.avg.support-phonenumber.com/
http://www.avast.support-phonenumber.com/
http://www.norton.support-phonenumber.com/
http://www.mcafee.support-phonenumber.com/
http://www.aol.support-phonenumber.com/

Vote down Vote up

4 months ago

Tech Support Phone Number
http://www.avg.support-phonenumber.com/
http://www.avast.support-phonenumber.com/
http://www.norton.support-phonenumber.com/
http://www.mcafee.support-phonenumber.com/
http://www.aol.support-phonenumber.com/

Vote down Vote up

4 months ago

Customer Support Number
http://www.avast.technical-supportnumber.com/
http://www.avg.technical-supportnumber.com/
http://www.mcafee.technical-supportnumber.com/
http://www.norton.technical-supportnumber.com/
http://www.aol.technical-supportnumber.com/

Vote down Vote up

4 months ago

Customer Service Number
http://www.quickentechsupportnumber.com/
http://www.quickbooks.support-phonenumber.com/
http://www.quicken.support-phonenumber.com/
http://www.sage.support-phonenumber.com/
http://www.outlook.support-phonenumber.com/

Vote down Vote up

4 months ago

Best Technical Support Number
http://www.quickbooks24.com/
http://www.sage.technical-supportnumber.com/
http://www.quicken.technical-supportnumber.com/
http://www.quickbooks.technical-supportnumber.com/
http://www.outlook.technical-supportnumber.com/

Vote down Vote up

7 months ago

Tech Support Number
Sage Tech Support Phone Number @ http://sagetech.supportphone-number.com/
QuickBooks Support Phone Number @ http://www.quickbookssupportphone-number.com/
Quicken tech Support Phone Number @ http://quickentech.supportphone-number.com/
QuickBooks Tech Support Phone Number @ http://quickbookstech.supportphone-number.com/

Vote down Vote up

7 months ago

Top Support Service
Quickbooks Support Phone Number @ http://www.quickbooks.support-phonenumber.com/
Quicken Support Phone Number @ http://www.quicken.support-phonenumber.com/
Sage Support Phone Number @ http://www.sage.support-phonenumber.com/
Aol Support Phone Number @ http://www.aol.support-phonenumber.com/
Outlook Support Phone Number @ http://www.outlook.support-phonenumber.com/

Vote down Vote up

7 months ago

Best Support Service
Quickbooks Technical Support Number @ http://www.quickbooks.technical-supportnumber.com/
Quicken Technical Support Number @ http://www.quicken.technical-supportnumber.com/
Sage Technical Support Number @ http://www.sage.technical-supportnumber.com/
Aol Technical Support Number @ http://www.aol.technical-supportnumber.com/
Outlook Technical Support Number @ http://www.outlook.technical-supportnumber.com/

Vote down Vote up

8 months ago

QuickBooks Support Phone Number @ http://quickbookssupportphone-number.weebly.com/
QuickBooks Support Phone Number @ http://www.quickbookssupportphone-number.com/
QuickBooks Support Phone Number @ http://qbsupportphonenumber.blogspot.com/

Vote down Vote up

8 months ago

Quickbooks Support Number @ http://www.quickbooks.intuit-techsupport.com/
Quickbooks Support Phone Number @ http://www.quickbooks.support-phonenumber.com/
Quicken Support Phone Number @ http://www.quicken.support-phonenumber.com/
Quicken Support Number @ http://www.quicken.intuit-techsupport.com/
Sage Support Phone Number @ http://www.sage.support-phonenumber.com/

Vote down Vote up

10 months ago

Packers and Movers
Packers and Movers Mumbai @ http://www.pikup5th.in/packers-and-movers-mumbai.html
Packers and Movers Pune @ http://www.pikup5th.in/packers-and-movers-pune.html
Packers and Movers Kolkata @ http://www.pikup5th.in/packers-and-movers-kolkata.html
Packers and Movers Chandigarh @ http://www.pikup5th.in/packers-and-movers-chandigarh.html
Packers and Movers Navi Mumbai @ http://www.pikup5th.in/packers-and-movers-navi-mumbai.html
Packers and Movers Thane @ http://www.pikup5th.in/packers-and-movers-thane.html

Vote down Vote up

10 months ago

Packers and Movers India @ http://www.pikup5th.in/
Packers and Movers Gurgaon @ http://www.pikup5th.in/packers-and-movers-gurgaon.html
Packers and Movers Delhi @ http://www.pikup5th.in/packers-and-movers-delhi.html
Packers and Movers Bangalore @ http://www.pikup5th.in/packers-and-movers-bangalore.html
Packers and Movers Hyderabad @ http://www.pikup5th.in/packers-and-movers-hyderabad.html
Packers and Movers Noida @ http://www.pikup5th.in/packers-and-movers-noida.html
Packers and Movers Chennai @ http://www.pikup5th.in/packers-and-movers-chennai.html

Vote down Vote up

over 1 year ago

Thanks for post this helpful post - Please visit for More information about:

http://www.expert9th.in/packers-and-movers-delhi/
http://www.expert9th.in/packers-and-movers-noida/
http://www.expert9th.in/packers-and-movers-gurgaon/
http://www.expert9th.in/packers-and-movers-kolkata/
http://www.expert9th.in/packers-and-movers-ghaziabad/
http://www.expert9th.in/packers-and-movers-amritsar/

Vote down Vote up

over 1 year ago

Thanks for post this helpful post - Please visit for More information about:
http://www.top9th.in/packers-and-movers-pune/
http://www.top9th.in/packers-and-movers-noida/
http://www.top9th.in/packers-and-movers-chennai/
http://www.top9th.in/packers-and-movers-kolkata/
http://www.top9th.in/packers-and-movers-ahmedabad/
http://www.top9th.in/packers-and-movers-surat/

Vote down Vote up

over 1 year ago

If you are looking Best Packers and Movers so Just Visit At:
http://www.top9th.in/packers-and-movers-bangalore/
http://www.top9th.in/packers-and-movers-hyderabad/
http://www.top9th.in/packers-and-movers-mumbai/
http://www.top9th.in/packers-and-movers-delhi/
http://www.top9th.in/packers-and-movers-gurgaon/
http://www.top9th.in/

Vote down Vote up

over 1 year ago

Thank you very much for sharing this article:

http://www.packersmoversmarathahalli.co.in/
http://www.justdials.in/

Vote down Vote up

over 1 year ago

Thank you for sharing this article:

http://movecar.top6thlist.in/car-carriers-in-delhi.html
http://movecar.top6thlist.in/car-carriers-in-faridabad.html
http://movecar.top6thlist.in/car-carriers-in-ghaziabad.html
http://movecar.top6thlist.in/car-carriers-in-gurgaon.html
http://movecar.top6thlist.in/car-carriers-in-noida.html

Vote down Vote up

over 1 year ago

Thank you for sharing this article:

http://movecar.top6thlist.in/car-carriers-in-chennai.html
http://movecar.top6thlist.in/car-carriers-in-hyderabad.html
http://movecar.top6thlist.in/car-carriers-in-pune.html
http://movecar.top6thlist.in/car-carriers-in-bangalore.html
http://movecar.top6thlist.in/

Vote down Vote up

over 1 year ago

Thank you very much for sharing this article:

http://www.5th.co.in/packers-and-movers-bangalore/
http://www.5th.co.in/packers-and-movers-pune/
http://www.5th.co.in/packers-and-movers-noida/
http://www.5th.co.in/packers-and-movers-gurgaon/

Vote down Vote up

over 1 year ago

Generate Your Shift Sleek In addition to Top3th Packers and Movers Gurgaon
http://top3th.co.in/packers-and-movers-gurgaon/
http://top3th.co.in/packers-and-movers-navi-mumbai/
http://top3th.co.in/packers-and-movers-thane/
http://top3th.co.in/

Vote down Vote up

over 1 year ago

Generate Your Shift Sleek In addition to Top3th Packers and Movers Gurgaon
http://top3th.co.in/packers-and-movers-gurgaon/
http://top3th.co.in/packers-and-movers-navi-mumbai/
http://top3th.co.in/packers-and-movers-thane/
http://top3th.co.in/

Vote down Vote up

over 1 year ago

Thanks for Export Packers and Movers in Pune and Mumbai packing and moving services India
http://www.export5th.in/packers-and-movers-in-mumbai/
http://www.export5th.in/packers-and-movers-in-pune/
http://www.export5th.in/packers-and-movers-in-bangalore/
http://www.export5th.in/packers-and-movers-in-hyderabad/
http://www.export5th.in/

Vote down Vote up

over 1 year ago

This article is really fantastic and thanks for sharing the valuable post.
http://packersmoverspune.top3rd.in/

Vote down Vote up

over 1 year ago

Thanks for all your information.Website is very nice and informative content.
http://www.dteller.in/packers-and-movers-hyderabad/
http://www.dteller.in/packers-and-movers-bangalore/
http://www.dteller.in/packers-and-movers-pune/
http://www.dteller.in/

Vote down Vote up

over 1 year ago

Thanks for all your information.Website is very nice and informative content.
http://www.dteller.in/packers-and-movers-delhi/
http://www.dteller.in/packers-and-movers-gurgaon/
http://www.dteller.in/packers-and-movers-mumbai/

Vote down Vote up

over 1 year ago

This article is really fantastic and thanks for sharing the valuable post.
http://www.expert5th.in/packers-and-movers-pune/

Vote down Vote up

over 1 year ago

This article is really fantastic and thanks for sharing the valuable post.
http://www.expert5th.in/packers-and-movers-pune/

Vote down Vote up

over 1 year ago

Packers and Movers company visit for more information: -
http://www.best7th.in/packers-and-movers-delhi/
http://www.best7th.in/packers-and-movers-gurgaon/
http://www.best7th.in/packers-and-movers-kolkata/
http://www.best7th.in/packers-and-movers-noida/
http://www.best7th.in/packers-and-movers-chandigarh/

Vote down Vote up

over 1 year ago

Packers and Movers company visit for more information: -
http://www.best7th.in/packers-and-movers-bangalore/
http://www.best7th.in/packers-and-movers-mumbai/
http://www.best7th.in/packers-and-movers-pune/
http://www.best7th.in/packers-and-movers-chennai/
http://www.best7th.in/packers-and-movers-hyderabad/

Vote down Vote up

over 1 year ago

I have Top 5 company listing of packers and Movers company at top5pm.in.

http://top5pm.in/packers-and-movers-bangalore/
http://top5pm.in/packers-and-movers-delhi/
http://top5pm.in/packers-and-movers-gurgaon/
http://top5pm.in/packers-and-movers-mumbai/
http://top5pm.in/packers-and-movers-pune/
http://top5pm.in/

Vote down Vote up

over 1 year ago

Thanks for all your information, Website is very nice and informative content.
http://www.expert5th.in/packers-and-movers-noida/
http://www.expert5th.in/packers-and-movers-thane/
http://www.expert5th.in/packers-and-movers-navimumbai/
http://www.expert5th.in/packers-and-movers-ghaziabad/
http://www.expert5th.in/packers-and-movers-faridabad/

Vote down Vote up

over 1 year ago

This article is really fantastic and thanks for sharing the valuable post.
http://www.expert5th.in/packers-and-movers-delhi/
http://www.expert5th.in/packers-and-movers-bangalore/
http://www.expert5th.in/packers-and-movers-gurgaon/
http://www.expert5th.in/packers-and-movers-pune/

Vote down Vote up

over 1 year ago

Thanks for post this helpful post - Please visit for More information about -
http://www.expert5th.in/packers-and-movers-hyderabad/
http://packersmoverspune.top3rd.in/
http://www.expert5th.in/packers-and-movers-mumbai/
http://www.expert5th.in/packers-and-movers-chennai/

Vote down Vote up

almost 2 years ago

Thanks for post this helpful post - Please visit for More information about - http://packersmoverspune.top3rd.in/

Vote down Vote up

almost 2 years ago

Thanks for post this helpful post -
http://www.expert5th.in/packers-and-movers-pune/

Vote down Vote up

almost 4 years ago

One time, I had to get a loan to support my nesting site. I was wary at first, but LFH (Loans for Hoatzins) is very reliable.

Vote down Vote up

almost 6 years ago

Hoatzins are the bomb.