Other Free Encyclopedias » Animal Life Resource » Birds

Moundbuilders: Megapodiidae - Behavior And Reproduction, Conservation Status, Malleefowl (leipoa Ocellata): Species Accounts, Maleo (macrocephalon Maleo): Species Accounts - PHYSICAL CHARACTERISTICS, GEOGRAPHIC RANGE, HABITAT, DIET, MOUNDBUILDERS AND PEOP

birds forest eggs people

MALLEEFOWL (Leipoa ocellata): SPECIES ACCOUNTS
MALEO (Macrocephalon maleo): SPECIES ACCOUNTS

Moundbuilders have big, strong legs and feet. The short bill curves downward, and most moundbuilders look like other galliforms (members of the order Galliformes) in body shape and dull coloring. There are a few species that have patterned plumage (feathers), but in these birds, the patterning helps conceal them from predators.

Moundbuilders weigh between 1.1 and 5.5 pounds (0.5 to 2.5 kilograms) and measure 11 to 27 inches (28 to 70 centimeters) in length.


Primarily in Australia and New Guinea as well as on islands throughout the southeastern Pacific and Southeast Asia.


Moundbuilders must live in regions where climate conditions encourage the decomposition of organic matter, and so they prefer tropical and subtropical rainforests. Only the malleefowl and the Australian brush-turkey can be found in habitats outside the rainforest.


Most of what moundbuilders eat comes from the forest floor. These birds feed on fallen fruits, seeds, ants, scorpions, and even small snakes. Although most of this food gets eaten as the birds dig through forest leaf-litter, they do seek out specific types of food, fruit being one of these.

Humans have traditionally harvested the birds' eggs, which are rich in protein. Although native people have been harvesting eggs for thousands of years, the recent human population growth has proven to be more than the moundbuilder population can sustain, and overharvesting has become a serious problem.


Scrub-Birds: Atrichornithidae - Physical Characteristics, Behavior And Reproduction, Conservation Status, Rufous Scrub-bird (atrichornis Rufescens): Species Account - GEOGRAPHIC RANGE, HABITAT, DIET, SCRUB-BIRDS AND PEOPLE [next] [back] Nightjars: Caprimulgiformes - Physical Characteristics, Geographic Range, Habitat, Behavior And Reproduction, Caprimulgiformes And People, Conservation Status - DIET

User Comments

Your email address will be altered so spam harvesting bots can't read it easily.
Hide my email completely instead?

Cancel or

Vote down Vote up

2 days ago

https://www.manta.com/c/mh18gv9/mobile-app-development-company-in-new-york
https://www.manta.com/c/mh182p3/mobile-app-development-company-in-san-francisco
https://www.manta.com/c/mh182ps/mobile-app-development-company-in-washington-d-c
https://www.manta.com/c/mh18llc/mobile-app-development-company-in-chicago
https://www.manta.com/c/mh18llg/mobile-app-development-company-in-boston
https://www.manta.com/c/mh18lld/mobile-app-development-company-in-seattle
https://www.manta.com/c/mh18llp/mobile-app-development-company-in-austin
https://www.manta.com/c/mh1822b/mobile-app-development-company-in-los-angeles
https://www.manta.com/c/mh18lgm/mobile-app-development-company-in-houston
https://www.manta.com/c/mh18lgb/mobile-app-development-company-in-san-diego
https://www.manta.com/c/mh18lg7/mobile-app-development-company-in-denver
https://www.manta.com/c/mh18lg3/mobile-app-development-company-in-philadelphia
https://www.manta.com/c/mh18lgd/mobile-app-development-company-in-nashville
https://www.manta.com/c/mh18lgn/mobile-app-development-company-in-portland
https://www.manta.com/c/mh182j3/mobile-app-development-company-in-durham
https://www.manta.com/c/mh18g9m/mobile-app-development-company-in-oregon
https://www.manta.com/c/mh18g9f/mobile-app-development-company-in-california
https://www.manta.com/c/mh18g9d/mobile-app-development-company-in-texas
https://www.manta.com/c/mh18gy6/mobile-app-development-company-in-kansas
https://www.manta.com/c/mh18gqy/mobile-app-development-company-in-nebraska
https://www.manta.com/c/mh18gz0/mobile-app-development-company-in-north-carolina

Vote down Vote up

4 months ago


Sage Support Phone Number
http://www.accountingpre.com/phone-number/sage/
http://www.accountingpre.com/phone-number/sage/50/
http://www.accountingpre.com/phone-number/sage/100/
http://www.accountingpre.com/phone-number/sage/300/
http://www.accountingpre.com/phone-number/sage/pro/
http://www.accountingpre.com/phone-number/sage/error/
http://www.accountingpre.com/phone-number/sage/payroll/
http://www.accountingpre.com/phone-number/sage/premier/
http://www.accountingpre.com/phone-number/sage/enterprise/

Vote down Vote up

4 months ago



Quicken Support Phone Number
http://www.accountingpre.com/phone-number/quicken/
http://www.accountingpre.com/phone-number/quicken/error/
http://www.accountingpre.com/phone-number/quicken/deluxe/
http://www.accountingpre.com/phone-number/quicken/premier/
http://www.accountingpre.com/phone-number/quicken/home-&-business/
http://www.accountingpre.com/phone-number/quicken/rental-&-property/

Vote down Vote up

4 months ago


Quickbooks Support Phone Number
http://www.accountingpre.com/phone-number/quickbooks/
http://www.accountingpre.com/phone-number/quickbooks/pos/
http://www.accountingpre.com/phone-number/quickbooks/pro/
http://www.accountingpre.com/phone-number/quickbooks/error/
http://www.accountingpre.com/phone-number/quickbooks/online/
http://www.accountingpre.com/phone-number/quickbooks/payroll/
http://www.accountingpre.com/phone-number/quickbooks/premier/
http://www.accountingpre.com/phone-number/quickbooks/enterprise/
http://www.accountingpre.com/phone-number/quickbooks/proadvisor/
http://www.accountingpre.com/

Vote down Vote up

5 months ago

Packers and Movers

http://www.waydm.com/
http://www.waydm.com/us/packers-and-movers/new-york/
http://www.waydm.com/us/packers-and-movers/san-francisco/
http://www.waydm.com/us/packers-and-movers/california/
http://www.waydm.com/us/packers-and-movers/los-angeles/
http://www.waydm.com/us/packers-and-movers/san-jose/
http://www.waydm.com/us/packers-and-movers/honolulu/
http://www.waydm.com/us/packers-and-movers/oakland/
http://www.waydm.com/us/packers-and-movers/denver/
http://www.waydm.com/us/packers-and-movers/chicago/
http://www.waydm.com/us/packers-and-movers/buffalo/
http://www.waydm.com/us/packers-and-movers/boston/

Vote down Vote up

5 months ago

Packers and Movers

http://www.waydm.com/
http://www.waydm.com/in/packers-and-movers/chennai/
http://www.waydm.com/in/packers-and-movers/hyderabad/
http://www.waydm.com/in/packers-and-movers/bangalore/
http://www.waydm.com/in/packers-and-movers/ghaziabad/
http://www.waydm.com/in/packers-and-movers/faridabad/
http://www.waydm.com/in/packers-and-movers/thane/
http://www.waydm.com/in/packers-and-movers/navi-mumbai/
http://www.waydm.com/in/packers-and-movers/pune/
http://www.waydm.com/in/packers-and-movers/mumbai/
http://www.waydm.com/in/packers-and-movers/gurgaon/
http://www.waydm.com/in/packers-and-movers/noida/
http://www.waydm.com/in/packers-and-movers/delhi/

Vote down Vote up

8 months ago

Quickbooks Support Phone Number
Quickbooks Support Phone Number @ http://www.quickbookstechnician.com/
Quickbooks Pro Support Phone Number @ http://www.quickbookstechnician.com/quickbooks-pro/
Quickbooks Error Support Phone Number @ http://www.quickbookstechnician.com/quickbooks-error/
Quickbooks Online Support Phone Number @ http://www.quickbookstechnician.com/quickbooks-online/
Quickbooks Payroll Support Phone Number @ http://www.quickbookstechnician.com/quickbooks-payroll/
Quickbooks Premier Support Phone Number @ http://www.quickbookstechnician.com/quickbooks-premier/
Quickbooks Enterprise Support Phone Number @ http://www.quickbookstechnician.com/quickbooks-enterprise/
Quickbooks Support Number

Vote down Vote up

10 months ago

Best Technical Support Number
http://www.quickbooks24.com/
http://www.sage.technical-supportnumber.com/
http://www.quicken.technical-supportnumber.com/
http://www.quickbooks.technical-supportnumber.com/
http://www.outlook.technical-supportnumber.com/
http://www.quickentechsupportnumber.com/
http://www.quickbooks.support-phonenumber.com/
http://www.quicken.support-phonenumber.com/
http://www.sage.support-phonenumber.com/
http://www.outlook.support-phonenumber.com/
http://www.avast.technical-supportnumber.com/
http://www.avg.technical-supportnumber.com/
http://www.mcafee.technical-supportnumber.com/
http://www.norton.technical-supportnumber.com/
http://www.aol.technical-supportnumber.com/
http://www.avg.support-phonenumber.com/
http://www.avast.support-phonenumber.com/
http://www.norton.support-phonenumber.com/
http://www.mcafee.support-phonenumber.com/
http://www.aol.support-phonenumber.com/

Vote down Vote up

10 months ago

Tech Support Phone Number
http://www.avg.support-phonenumber.com/
http://www.avast.support-phonenumber.com/
http://www.norton.support-phonenumber.com/
http://www.mcafee.support-phonenumber.com/
http://www.aol.support-phonenumber.com/

Vote down Vote up

10 months ago

Customer Support Number
http://www.avast.technical-supportnumber.com/
http://www.avg.technical-supportnumber.com/
http://www.mcafee.technical-supportnumber.com/
http://www.norton.technical-supportnumber.com/
http://www.aol.technical-supportnumber.com/

Vote down Vote up

10 months ago

Customer Service Number
http://www.quickentechsupportnumber.com/
http://www.quickbooks.support-phonenumber.com/
http://www.quicken.support-phonenumber.com/
http://www.sage.support-phonenumber.com/
http://www.outlook.support-phonenumber.com/

Vote down Vote up

10 months ago

Best Technical Support Number
http://www.quickbooks24.com/
http://www.sage.technical-supportnumber.com/
http://www.quicken.technical-supportnumber.com/
http://www.quickbooks.technical-supportnumber.com/
http://www.outlook.technical-supportnumber.com/

Vote down Vote up

about 1 year ago

Tech Support Number
Sage Tech Support Phone Number @ http://sagetech.supportphone-number.com/
QuickBooks Support Phone Number @ http://www.quickbookssupportphone-number.com/
Quicken tech Support Phone Number @ http://quickentech.supportphone-number.com/
QuickBooks Tech Support Phone Number @ http://quickbookstech.supportphone-number.com/

Vote down Vote up

about 1 year ago

Top Support Service
Quickbooks Support Phone Number @ http://www.quickbooks.support-phonenumber.com/
Quicken Support Phone Number @ http://www.quicken.support-phonenumber.com/
Sage Support Phone Number @ http://www.sage.support-phonenumber.com/
Aol Support Phone Number @ http://www.aol.support-phonenumber.com/
Outlook Support Phone Number @ http://www.outlook.support-phonenumber.com/

Vote down Vote up

about 1 year ago

Best Support Service
Quickbooks Technical Support Number @ http://www.quickbooks.technical-supportnumber.com/
Quicken Technical Support Number @ http://www.quicken.technical-supportnumber.com/
Sage Technical Support Number @ http://www.sage.technical-supportnumber.com/
Aol Technical Support Number @ http://www.aol.technical-supportnumber.com/
Outlook Technical Support Number @ http://www.outlook.technical-supportnumber.com/

Vote down Vote up

about 1 year ago

QuickBooks Support Phone Number @ http://quickbookssupportphone-number.weebly.com/
QuickBooks Support Phone Number @ http://www.quickbookssupportphone-number.com/
QuickBooks Support Phone Number @ http://qbsupportphonenumber.blogspot.com/

Vote down Vote up

over 1 year ago

Packers and Movers
Packers and Movers Mumbai @ http://www.pikup5th.in/packers-and-movers-mumbai.html
Packers and Movers Pune @ http://www.pikup5th.in/packers-and-movers-pune.html
Packers and Movers Kolkata @ http://www.pikup5th.in/packers-and-movers-kolkata.html
Packers and Movers Chandigarh @ http://www.pikup5th.in/packers-and-movers-chandigarh.html
Packers and Movers Navi Mumbai @ http://www.pikup5th.in/packers-and-movers-navi-mumbai.html
Packers and Movers Thane @ http://www.pikup5th.in/packers-and-movers-thane.html

Vote down Vote up

over 1 year ago

Packers and Movers India @ http://www.pikup5th.in/
Packers and Movers Gurgaon @ http://www.pikup5th.in/packers-and-movers-gurgaon.html
Packers and Movers Delhi @ http://www.pikup5th.in/packers-and-movers-delhi.html
Packers and Movers Bangalore @ http://www.pikup5th.in/packers-and-movers-bangalore.html
Packers and Movers Hyderabad @ http://www.pikup5th.in/packers-and-movers-hyderabad.html
Packers and Movers Noida @ http://www.pikup5th.in/packers-and-movers-noida.html
Packers and Movers Chennai @ http://www.pikup5th.in/packers-and-movers-chennai.html

Vote down Vote up

almost 2 years ago

Thanks for post this helpful post - Please visit for More information about:

http://www.expert9th.in/packers-and-movers-mumbai/
http://www.expert9th.in/packers-and-movers-surat/
http://www.expert9th.in/packers-and-movers-navimumbai/
http://www.expert9th.in/packers-and-movers-ahmedabad/
http://www.expert9th.in/packers-and-movers-chandigarh/
http://www.expert9th.in/packers-and-movers-jamshedpur/

Vote down Vote up

almost 2 years ago

Thanks for post this helpful post - Please visit for More information about:

http://www.expert9th.in/packers-and-movers-bangalore/
http://www.expert9th.in/packers-and-movers-hyderabad/
http://www.expert9th.in/packers-and-movers-chennai/
http://www.expert9th.in/packers-and-movers-pune/
http://www.expert9th.in/packers-and-movers-faridabad/
http://www.expert9th.in/packers-and-movers-kochi/

Vote down Vote up

almost 2 years ago

Thanks for post this helpful post - Please visit for More information about:

http://www.expert9th.in/packers-and-movers-delhi/
http://www.expert9th.in/packers-and-movers-noida/
http://www.expert9th.in/packers-and-movers-gurgaon/
http://www.expert9th.in/packers-and-movers-kolkata/
http://www.expert9th.in/packers-and-movers-ghaziabad/
http://www.expert9th.in/packers-and-movers-amritsar/

Vote down Vote up

almost 2 years ago

Thanks for post this helpful post - Please visit for More information about:
http://www.top9th.in/packers-and-movers-pune/
http://www.top9th.in/packers-and-movers-noida/
http://www.top9th.in/packers-and-movers-chennai/
http://www.top9th.in/packers-and-movers-kolkata/
http://www.top9th.in/packers-and-movers-ahmedabad/
http://www.top9th.in/packers-and-movers-surat/

Vote down Vote up

almost 2 years ago

If you are looking Best Packers and Movers so Just Visit At:
http://www.top9th.in/packers-and-movers-bangalore/
http://www.top9th.in/packers-and-movers-hyderabad/
http://www.top9th.in/packers-and-movers-mumbai/
http://www.top9th.in/packers-and-movers-delhi/
http://www.top9th.in/packers-and-movers-gurgaon/
http://www.top9th.in/

Vote down Vote up

about 2 years ago

This article is really fantastic and thanks for sharing the valuable post.
http://packersmoverspune.top3rd.in/

Vote down Vote up

about 2 years ago

Thanks for all your information.Website is very nice and informative content.
http://www.dteller.in/packers-and-movers-hyderabad/
http://www.dteller.in/packers-and-movers-bangalore/
http://www.dteller.in/packers-and-movers-pune/
http://www.dteller.in/

Vote down Vote up

about 2 years ago

Thanks for all your information.Website is very nice and informative content.
http://www.dteller.in/packers-and-movers-delhi/
http://www.dteller.in/packers-and-movers-gurgaon/
http://www.dteller.in/packers-and-movers-mumbai/

Vote down Vote up

about 2 years ago

This article is really fantastic and thanks for sharing the valuable post.
http://www.expert5th.in/packers-and-movers-pune/

Vote down Vote up

about 2 years ago

Packers and Movers company visit for more information: -
http://www.best7th.in/packers-and-movers-delhi/
http://www.best7th.in/packers-and-movers-gurgaon/
http://www.best7th.in/packers-and-movers-kolkata/
http://www.best7th.in/packers-and-movers-noida/
http://www.best7th.in/packers-and-movers-chandigarh/

Vote down Vote up

about 2 years ago

Packers and Movers company visit for more information: -
http://www.best7th.in/packers-and-movers-bangalore/
http://www.best7th.in/packers-and-movers-mumbai/
http://www.best7th.in/packers-and-movers-pune/
http://www.best7th.in/packers-and-movers-chennai/
http://www.best7th.in/packers-and-movers-hyderabad/

Vote down Vote up

about 2 years ago

I have Top 5 company listing of packers and Movers company at top5pm.in.

http://top5pm.in/packers-and-movers-bangalore/
http://top5pm.in/packers-and-movers-delhi/
http://top5pm.in/packers-and-movers-gurgaon/
http://top5pm.in/packers-and-movers-mumbai/
http://top5pm.in/packers-and-movers-pune/
http://top5pm.in/

Vote down Vote up

about 2 years ago

Thanks for all your information, Website is very nice and informative content.
http://www.expert5th.in/packers-and-movers-noida/
http://www.expert5th.in/packers-and-movers-thane/
http://www.expert5th.in/packers-and-movers-navimumbai/
http://www.expert5th.in/packers-and-movers-ghaziabad/
http://www.expert5th.in/packers-and-movers-faridabad/

Vote down Vote up

about 2 years ago

This article is really fantastic and thanks for sharing the valuable post.
http://www.expert5th.in/packers-and-movers-delhi/
http://www.expert5th.in/packers-and-movers-bangalore/
http://www.expert5th.in/packers-and-movers-gurgaon/
http://www.expert5th.in/packers-and-movers-pune/

Vote down Vote up

about 2 years ago

Thanks for post this helpful post - Please visit for More information about -
http://www.expert5th.in/packers-and-movers-hyderabad/
http://packersmoverspune.top3rd.in/
http://www.expert5th.in/packers-and-movers-mumbai/
http://www.expert5th.in/packers-and-movers-chennai/

Vote down Vote up

over 2 years ago

Thanks for post this helpful post - Please visit for More information about - http://packersmoverspune.top3rd.in/

Vote down Vote up

over 2 years ago

Thanks for post this helpful post -
http://www.expert5th.in/packers-and-movers-pune/