Other Free Encyclopedias » Animal Life Resource » Mammals » Bushbabies: Galagidae - Physical Characteristics, Behavior And Reproduction, Senegal Bushbaby (galago Senegalensis): Species Accounts, Northern Greater Bushbaby (otolemur Garnettii): Species Accounts - GEOGRAPHIC RANGE, HABITAT, DIET, BUSHBABIES AND PEOPL

Bushbabies: Galagidae - Behavior And Reproduction

bushbaby food females branch

Bushbabies are nocturnal, searching for food at night. They usually remain in trees, but occasionally travel on the ground. Most leap from branch to branch. Some can leap long distances from one branch to another. Others hop on their strong hind legs between branch supports. Some can hang onto vertical supports, such as tree trunks. While most move quickly, the thick-tailed bushbaby sometimes moves very slowly and quietly.

Bushbabies usually sleep in social groups of eight to twenty members. During the day, they rest in hollow trees, tree forks, or old bird nests. Some make sleeping nests from leaves. In a few species, a mated pair and their young may sleep together. In other groups, the adult male does not sleep in the group-sleeping nest. He keeps in contact with females when they are outside the sleeping nest.

SOUNDING OFF

The common name bushbaby comes from their loud wailing territorial sound, which sounds somewhat like a human baby crying. Bushbabies make a variety of different sounds, as well. The Senegal bushbaby makes a high-pitched scream when upset, has an alarm call which includes grunting, clucking, whistling, wailing, and sneezing, as well as grunts when it is ready to fight. Infants call to their mothers with a "tsic" sound, and mothers reply with a cooing or soft hooting sound.

Bushbabies forage, or search for food, by themselves. Males have larger territories, or feeding areas, than females. These often overlap those of several female groups. Scent, sounds, and facial expressions all play a role in bushbaby communication.

An adult male bushbaby may mate with several females. Twice a year, one to three infants are born. The young are fully furred with their eyes open at birth. Bushbaby young spend a week or longer in a hidden tree nest. The mother may leave them there while searching for food, or she may travel, carrying her young in her mouth. When she eats, these babies are placed to cling onto branches. Later, bushbaby young may ride on their mother's back as she searches for food. A baby is weaned, or stops feeding on breastmilk, at about two months of age. It becomes independent at about four months of age. Females may remain in their birth area or travel to new areas.

Bushbabies: Galagidae - Senegal Bushbaby (galago Senegalensis): Species Accounts [next] [back] Bushbabies: Galagidae - Physical Characteristics

User Comments

Your email address will be altered so spam harvesting bots can't read it easily.
Hide my email completely instead?

Cancel or

Vote down Vote up

about 9 years ago

bush babies are so cute iam doing a report on them and it is hard for me to find what there young are called:)

Vote down Vote up

over 6 years ago

why dont this tell you if the bush baby reproduce sexual or asexual? or the number of eggs the mother have? or the season it mates in? or

Vote down Vote up

about 2 years ago

Thanks for More information best company provide services India
http://www.export5th.in/
http://www.export5th.in/packers-and-movers-in-pune/
http://www.export5th.in/packers-and-movers-in-mumbai/
http://www.export5th.in/packers-and-movers-in-bangalore/
http://www.export5th.in/packers-and-movers-in-hyderabad/

Vote down Vote up

over 1 year ago

Quickbooks Support Number @ http://www.quickbooks.intuit-techsupport.com/
Quickbooks Support Phone Number @ http://www.quickbooks.support-phonenumber.com/
Quicken Support Phone Number @ http://www.quicken.support-phonenumber.com/
Quicken Support Number @ http://www.quicken.intuit-techsupport.com/
Sage Support Phone Number @ http://www.sage.support-phonenumber.com/

Vote down Vote up

over 1 year ago


Packers and Movers Hyderabad @
http://www.movers5th.in/packers-and-movers-hyderabad/
Packers and Movers Pune @
http://www.movers5th.in/packers-and-movers-pune/
Packers and Movers Bangalore @
http://www.movers5th.in/packers-and-movers-bangalore/

Vote down Vote up

over 1 year ago

Packers and Movers Mumbai @
http://www.movers5th.in/packers-and-movers-mumbai/
Packers and Movers Delhi @
http://www.movers5th.in/packers-and-movers-delhi/
Packers and Movers Gurgaon @
http://www.movers5th.in/packers-and-movers-gurgaon/

Vote down Vote up

about 2 years ago

Move towards your new location more enthusiasm and accordingly to your budget.
Packers and Movers Bangalore @ http://www.premiumstar.in/packers-and-movers-bangalore.html
Packers and Movers Kolkata @ http://www.premiumstar.in/packers-and-movers-kolkata.html
Packers and Movers Hyderabad @ http://www.premiumstar.in/packers-and-movers-hyderabad.html
Packers and Movers Pune @ http://www.premiumstar.in/packers-and-movers-pune.html
Packers and Movers Chennai @ http://www.premiumstar.in/packers-and-movers-chennai.html

Vote down Vote up

about 2 years ago

Shifting Solutions according to your desired needs
Packers and Movers Gurgaon @ http://www.premiumstar.in/packers-and-movers-gurgaon.html
Packers and Movers Mumbai @ http://www.premiumstar.in/packers-and-movers-mumbai.html
Packers and Movers Noida @ http://www.premiumstar.in/packers-and-movers-noida.html
Packers and Movers Delhi @ http://www.premiumstar.in/packers-and-movers-delhi.html

Vote down Vote up

about 2 years ago

Thanks for more information about visit:
http://www.adword.co.in/packers-and-movers-hyderabad/
http://www.adword.co.in/packers-and-movers-mumbai/
http://www.adword.co.in/packers-and-movers-pune/

Vote down Vote up

about 2 years ago

Thanks for more information about visit link:
http://www.adword.co.in/
http://www.adword.co.in/packers-and-movers-bangalore/
http://www.adword.co.in/packers-and-movers-delhi/
http://www.adword.co.in/packers-and-movers-gurgaon/

Vote down Vote up

about 2 years ago

Thanks for More information visit link:
http://3th.co.in/packers-and-movers-delhi/
http://3th.co.in/packers-and-movers-noida/
http://3th.co.in/packers-and-movers-ghaziabad/
http://3th.co.in/packers-and-movers-faridabad/

Vote down Vote up

over 2 years ago

Thank you very much for sharing this article:

http://www.packersmoversmarathahalli.co.in/
http://www.justdials.in/

Vote down Vote up

over 2 years ago

Thank you very much for sharing this article:

http://www.5th.co.in/packers-and-movers-bangalore/
http://www.5th.co.in/packers-and-movers-pune/
http://www.5th.co.in/packers-and-movers-noida/
http://www.5th.co.in/packers-and-movers-gurgaon/

Vote down Vote up

almost 5 years ago

THEY CUTE