Other Free Encyclopedias » Animal Life Resource » Mammals

Pygmy Possums: Burramyidae - Physical Characteristics, Behavior And Reproduction, Conservation Status, Eastern Pygmy Possum (cercartetus Nanus): Species Account - GEOGRAPHIC RANGE, HABITAT, DIET, PYGMY POSSUMS AND PEOPLE

insects pollen mountain nectar

EASTERN PYGMY POSSUM (Cercartetus nanus): SPECIES ACCOUNT

Pygmy possums live in central New Guinea, Tasmania, and southeastern and southwestern Australia.

Most pygmy possums live in wet forest areas with evergreen or eucalyptus (yoo-kah-LIP-tus) trees. One species, the mountain pygmy possum, lives in the tropical mountain rainforest of New Guinea above 4,900 feet (1,500 meters).

Different species of pygmy possums have different diets, ranging from plant pollen and nectar to insects to small lizards. The long-tailed pygmy possum eats mainly insects, but will also feed on flowers. The eastern pygmy possum eats mainly pollen and nectar. The mountain pygmy possum eats seeds, fruit, insects, and other small animals. All species of pygmy possum are eaten by owls, feral (wild) cats, snakes, and carnivorous (meat-eating) marsupial mammals.

Pygmy possums are not known to have any significance to humans except to those interested in scientific study. Species that feed on plant nectar and pollen may be responsible for helping to extend the range of these plants.

Sportive Lemurs: Lepilemuridae - Physical Characteristics, Diet, Behavior And Reproduction, Red-tailed Sportive Lemur (lepilemur Ruficaudatus): Species Accounts - GEOGRAPHIC RANGE, BIOMES, HABITAT, SPORTIVE LEMURS AND PEOPLE, CONSERVATION STATUS [next] [back] Agoutis: Dasyproctidae - Physical Characteristics, Behavior And Reproduction, Central American Agouti (dasyprocta Punctata): Species Account - GEOGRAPHIC RANGE, HABITAT, DIET, AGOUTIS AND PEOPLE, CONSERVATION STATUS

User Comments

Your email address will be altered so spam harvesting bots can't read it easily.
Hide my email completely instead?

Cancel or

Vote down Vote up

over 1 year ago

Move towards your new location more enthusiasm and accordingly to your budget.
Packers and Movers Bangalore @ http://www.premiumstar.in/packers-and-movers-bangalore.html
Packers and Movers Kolkata @ http://www.premiumstar.in/packers-and-movers-kolkata.html
Packers and Movers Hyderabad @ http://www.premiumstar.in/packers-and-movers-hyderabad.html
Packers and Movers Pune @ http://www.premiumstar.in/packers-and-movers-pune.html
Packers and Movers Chennai @ http://www.premiumstar.in/packers-and-movers-chennai.html

Vote down Vote up

over 1 year ago

Shifting Solutions according to your desired needs
Packers and Movers Gurgaon @ http://www.premiumstar.in/packers-and-movers-gurgaon.html
Packers and Movers Mumbai @ http://www.premiumstar.in/packers-and-movers-mumbai.html
Packers and Movers Noida @ http://www.premiumstar.in/packers-and-movers-noida.html
Packers and Movers Delhi @ http://www.premiumstar.in/packers-and-movers-delhi.html

Vote down Vote up

over 1 year ago

Packers and Movers Hyderabad @
http://www.adword.co.in/packers-and-movers-hyderabad/
Packers and Movers Mumbai @
http://www.adword.co.in/packers-and-movers-mumbai/
Packers and Movers Pune @
http://www.adword.co.in/packers-and-movers-pune/

Vote down Vote up

over 1 year ago

http://www.adword.co.in/
Packers and Movers Bangalore @
http://www.adword.co.in/packers-and-movers-bangalore/
Packers and Movers Delhi @
http://www.adword.co.in/packers-and-movers-delhi/
Packers and Movers Gurgaon @
http://www.adword.co.in/packers-and-movers-gurgaon/

Vote down Vote up

over 1 year ago

Thank you very much for sharing this article:

http://www.packersmoversmarathahalli.co.in/
http://www.justdials.in/

Vote down Vote up

over 1 year ago

Thank you for sharing this article:

http://movecar.top6thlist.in/car-carriers-in-delhi.html
http://movecar.top6thlist.in/car-carriers-in-faridabad.html
http://movecar.top6thlist.in/car-carriers-in-ghaziabad.html
http://movecar.top6thlist.in/car-carriers-in-gurgaon.html
http://movecar.top6thlist.in/car-carriers-in-noida.html

Vote down Vote up

over 1 year ago

Thank you for sharing this article:

http://movecar.top6thlist.in/car-carriers-in-chennai.html
http://movecar.top6thlist.in/car-carriers-in-hyderabad.html
http://movecar.top6thlist.in/car-carriers-in-pune.html
http://movecar.top6thlist.in/car-carriers-in-bangalore.html
http://movecar.top6thlist.in/

Vote down Vote up

over 1 year ago

Packers and Movers Services by Export5th
http://www.export5th.in/packers-and-movers-in-mumbai/
http://www.export5th.in/packers-and-movers-in-gurgaon/
http://www.export5th.in/packers-and-movers-in-pune/

Vote down Vote up

over 1 year ago

Thank you very much for sharing this article:

http://www.5th.co.in/packers-and-movers-bangalore/
http://www.5th.co.in/packers-and-movers-pune/
http://www.5th.co.in/packers-and-movers-noida/
http://www.5th.co.in/packers-and-movers-gurgaon/

Vote down Vote up

about 6 years ago

What is it's geographic Range?