Other Free Encyclopedias » Animal Life Resource » Mammals

New World Opossums: Didelphimorphia - Physical Characteristics, Diet, Behavior And Reproduction, New World Opossums And People, Virginia Opossum (didelphis Virginiana): Species Accounts - GEOGRAPHIC RANGE, HABITAT, CONSERVATION STATUS

america extinction south risk

VIRGINIA OPOSSUM (Didelphis virginiana): SPECIES ACCOUNTS
WATER OPOSSUM (Chironectes minimus): SPECIES ACCOUNTS

In a very general sense, the Didelphidae can be said to inhabit both New World continents, from southeastern Canada to southern South America, but the common or Virginia opossum is the only marsupial making its home in the continental U.S. and Canada. All other species of Didelphidae range across Mexico, Central, and South America, from northern Mexico to southern Patagonia in South America, and on some of the Lesser Antilles Islands.

The Virginia opossum inhabits the widest range of habitats of any New World opossum, being found over most of the continental United States and southeastern Canada, in forest, grassland, and desert. The other species variously inhabit tropical and subtropical forests, and a few, like the Patagonian opossum, inhabit temperate grasslands in South America. The dryland mouse opossum prefers desert-like conditions in Central America.

Out of all the Didelphidae species, the IUCN lists three as Critically Endangered (facing an extremely high risk of extinction), three as Endangered (facing a very high risk of extinction), fifteen as Vulnerable (facing a high risk of extinction), and eighteen as Near Threatened (close to becoming threatened with extinction).

False Vampire Bats: Megadermatidae - Physical Characteristics, Diet, Behavior And Reproduction, Megadermatids And People, Australian False Vampire Bat (macroderma Gigas): Species Account - GEOGRAPHIC RANGE, HABITAT, CONSERVATION STATUS [next] [back] Walrus: Odobenidae - Physical Characteristics, Geographic Range, Diet, Behavior And Reproduction, Walruses And People - HABITAT, CONSERVATION STATUS

User Comments

Your email address will be altered so spam harvesting bots can't read it easily.
Hide my email completely instead?

Cancel or

Vote down Vote up

almost 2 years ago

Move towards your new location more enthusiasm and accordingly to your budget.
Packers and Movers Bangalore @ http://www.premiumstar.in/packers-and-movers-bangalore.html
Packers and Movers Kolkata @ http://www.premiumstar.in/packers-and-movers-kolkata.html
Packers and Movers Hyderabad @ http://www.premiumstar.in/packers-and-movers-hyderabad.html
Packers and Movers Pune @ http://www.premiumstar.in/packers-and-movers-pune.html
Packers and Movers Chennai @ http://www.premiumstar.in/packers-and-movers-chennai.html

Vote down Vote up

almost 2 years ago

Shifting Solutions according to your desired needs
Packers and Movers Gurgaon @ http://www.premiumstar.in/packers-and-movers-gurgaon.html
Packers and Movers Mumbai @ http://www.premiumstar.in/packers-and-movers-mumbai.html
Packers and Movers Noida @ http://www.premiumstar.in/packers-and-movers-noida.html
Packers and Movers Delhi @ http://www.premiumstar.in/packers-and-movers-delhi.html

Vote down Vote up

almost 2 years ago

Thanks for more information about visit:
http://www.adword.co.in/packers-and-movers-hyderabad/
http://www.adword.co.in/packers-and-movers-mumbai/
http://www.adword.co.in/packers-and-movers-pune/

Vote down Vote up

almost 2 years ago

Thanks for More information best company provide services India
http://www.export5th.in/
http://www.export5th.in/packers-and-movers-in-pune/
http://www.export5th.in/packers-and-movers-in-mumbai/
http://www.export5th.in/packers-and-movers-in-bangalore/
http://www.export5th.in/packers-and-movers-in-hyderabad/

Vote down Vote up

almost 2 years ago

Thanks for More information visit link:
http://3th.co.in/packers-and-movers-delhi/
http://3th.co.in/packers-and-movers-noida/
http://3th.co.in/packers-and-movers-ghaziabad/
http://3th.co.in/packers-and-movers-faridabad/

Vote down Vote up

almost 2 years ago

Thanks for all your information, Website is very nice and informative content.
Packers and Movers in Noida @
http://www.expert5th.in/packers-and-movers-noida/
Packers and Movers in Thane @
http://www.expert5th.in/packers-and-movers-thane/
Packers and Movers in Navi Mumbai @
http://www.expert5th.in/packers-and-movers-navimumbai/
Packers and Movers in Ghaziabad @
http://www.expert5th.in/packers-and-movers-ghaziabad/
Packers and Movers in Faridabad @
http://www.expert5th.in/packers-and-movers-faridabad/

Vote down Vote up

almost 2 years ago

This article is really fantastic and thanks for sharing the valuable post.
Packers and Movers in Bangalore @
http://www.expert5th.in/packers-and-movers-bangalore/
Packers and Movers in Pune @
http://www.expert5th.in/packers-and-movers-pune/
Packers and Movers in Delhi @
http://www.expert5th.in/packers-and-movers-delhi/
Packers and Movers in Gurgaon @
http://www.expert5th.in/packers-and-movers-gurgaon/

Vote down Vote up

almost 2 years ago

Thanks for post this helpful post - Please visit for More information about -
Packers and Movers in Hyderabad @
http://www.expert5th.in/packers-and-movers-hyderabad/
Packers and Movers in Mumbai @
http://www.expert5th.in/packers-and-movers-mumbai/
Packers and Movers in Chennai @
http://www.expert5th.in/packers-and-movers-chennai/