Other Free Encyclopedias » Animal Life Resource » Insects and Spiders

Chewing and Sucking Lice: Phthiraptera - Physical Characteristics, Habitat, Behavior And Reproduction, Chewing And Sucking Lice And People, Human Head/body Louse (pediculus Humanus): Species Accounts - GEOGRAPHIC RANGE, DIET, CONSERVATION STATUS

blood skin listed host

HUMAN HEAD/BODY LOUSE (Pediculus humanus): SPECIES ACCOUNTS
SLENDER PIGEON LOUSE (Columbicola columbae): SPECIES ACCOUNTS

Chewing and sucking lice are found on all continents, including Antarctica. The distribution of lice is roughly similar to that of the birds and mammals on which they live. However, their distribution within the host population is not uniform. They are usually quite patchy or concentrated in some areas. There are 4,927 species of lice worldwide, with about 780 species in the United States and Canada.

The sucking lice feed exclusively on the blood of mammals. They use their mouthparts to pierce the skin of their host and suck up blood from the small blood vessels located near the skin surface. Chewing lice use their biting mouthparts to feed on feathers, hair, bits of skin, dried blood, and other skin secretions.

Only one species of louse is listed by the World Conservation Union (IUCN). The pygmy hog louse is listed as Endangered or facing a very high risk of extinction in the wild. Its host, the pygmy hog of India, is also listed as Endangered.

Cicadas True Bugs and Relatives: Hemiptera - Physical Characteristics, Habitat, Diet, Behavior And Reproduction, Hemipterans And People, Conservation Status - GEOGRAPHIC RANGE [next] [back] Barklice Psocids and Book Lice: Psocoptera - Physical Characteristics, Behavior And Reproduction, Book Louse (liposcelis Bostrychophila): Species Accounts - GEOGRAPHIC RANGE, HABITAT, DIET, PSOCIDS AND PEOPLE, CONSERVATION STATUS

User Comments

Your email address will be altered so spam harvesting bots can't read it easily.
Hide my email completely instead?

Cancel or

Vote down Vote up

12 months ago

Quickbooks Support Number @ http://www.quickbooks.intuit-techsupport.com/
Quickbooks Support Phone Number @ http://www.quickbooks.support-phonenumber.com/
Quicken Support Phone Number @ http://www.quicken.support-phonenumber.com/
Quicken Support Number @ http://www.quicken.intuit-techsupport.com/
Sage Support Phone Number @ http://www.sage.support-phonenumber.com/

Vote down Vote up

almost 2 years ago

Move towards your new location more enthusiasm and accordingly to your budget.
Packers and Movers Bangalore @ http://www.premiumstar.in/packers-and-movers-bangalore.html
Packers and Movers Kolkata @ http://www.premiumstar.in/packers-and-movers-kolkata.html
Packers and Movers Hyderabad @ http://www.premiumstar.in/packers-and-movers-hyderabad.html
Packers and Movers Pune @ http://www.premiumstar.in/packers-and-movers-pune.html
Packers and Movers Chennai @ http://www.premiumstar.in/packers-and-movers-chennai.html

Vote down Vote up

almost 2 years ago

Shifting Solutions according to your desired needs
Packers and Movers Gurgaon @ http://www.premiumstar.in/packers-and-movers-gurgaon.html
Packers and Movers Mumbai @ http://www.premiumstar.in/packers-and-movers-mumbai.html
Packers and Movers Noida @ http://www.premiumstar.in/packers-and-movers-noida.html
Packers and Movers Delhi @ http://www.premiumstar.in/packers-and-movers-delhi.html

Vote down Vote up

almost 2 years ago

Thanks for more information about visit:
http://www.adword.co.in/packers-and-movers-hyderabad/
http://www.adword.co.in/packers-and-movers-mumbai/
http://www.adword.co.in/packers-and-movers-pune/

Vote down Vote up

almost 2 years ago

Thanks for more information about visit link:
http://www.adword.co.in/
http://www.adword.co.in/packers-and-movers-bangalore/
http://www.adword.co.in/packers-and-movers-delhi/
http://www.adword.co.in/packers-and-movers-gurgaon/

Vote down Vote up

almost 2 years ago

Thanks for More information best company provide services India
http://www.export5th.in/
http://www.export5th.in/packers-and-movers-in-pune/
http://www.export5th.in/packers-and-movers-in-mumbai/
http://www.export5th.in/packers-and-movers-in-bangalore/
http://www.export5th.in/packers-and-movers-in-hyderabad/

Vote down Vote up

almost 2 years ago

Thanks for More information visit link:
http://3th.co.in/packers-and-movers-delhi/
http://3th.co.in/packers-and-movers-noida/
http://3th.co.in/packers-and-movers-ghaziabad/
http://3th.co.in/packers-and-movers-faridabad/

Vote down Vote up

almost 2 years ago

Thank you very much for sharing this article:

http://www.packersmoversmarathahalli.co.in/
http://www.justdials.in/

Vote down Vote up

almost 2 years ago

Thank you very much for sharing this article:

http://www.5th.co.in/packers-and-movers-bangalore/
http://www.5th.co.in/packers-and-movers-pune/
http://www.5th.co.in/packers-and-movers-noida/
http://www.5th.co.in/packers-and-movers-gurgaon/